India Business Innovations
Entrepreneurial India

Eid celebrations from the eyes of docAfshan

Dr.Afshan Hashmi in designer Indian clothes

Dr. Afshan Hashmi in designer Indian clothes

Eid celebrations from the eyes of docAfshan

89HC6422RJ

Dr. Afshan Hashmi

By Afshan Naheed Hashmi, PhD, C(ASCP), RAC

Best-Selling Author, Consultant ,TV and Radio Personality

Author: www.afshanhashmi.com

General: http://drafshanhashmi.com/

Eid Mubarak or  Blessed Eid is the greetings everyone gives to each other on the day of Eid.

Eid al-Fitr is a “festival of breaking of the fast”. It is an important religious holiday celebrated by Muslims worldwide. This festival marks the end of Ramadan, the Islamic holy month of fasting  The holiday celebrates the conclusion of the 29 or 30 days of dawn-to-sunset fasting during the entire month of Ramadan. The day of Eid, therefore, falls on the first day of the month of Shawwal. The date for the start of any Hijri lunar  month varies based on the observation of new moon by local religious authorities, so the exact day of celebration varies by locality. Many wait to see the moon or an announcement from Mecca; the Fiqh Council of North America has determined that Eid al-Fitr 2016  falls on July 6 based on astronomical calculations. Eid al-Fitr has a particular Salat or Islamic prayer, consisting of two Rakats (units) and generally offered in an open field or large hall.

Chaand Raat means the eve of the Muslim festival of Eid ul-Fitr; it can also mean a night with a full moon.

Chaand Raat is a time of celebration when families and friends gather in open areas at the end of the last day of Ramadan to spot the new moon, which signals the arrival of the Islamic month of Shawwal and the day of Eid. Once the moon is sighted, people wish each other Chaand Raat Mubarak meaning have a blessed night of the new moon” or Eid Mubarak. Women and girls decorate their hands with  henna, and people prepare desserts for the next day of Eid and do the last round of shopping.

City streets have a festive look, and brightly decorated malls and markets remain open late into the night. Chaand Raat is celebrated festively and passionately by Muslims all over South Asia.

Last year I did not celebrate Eid due to loss of my mom. Within 5 years I lost my mom ,dad and younger brother. This year I lost my younger brother but my younger brother who was an autistic child always loved dressing up on Eid. So as a tribute to him I celebrated Eid although Eid is not celebrated if one has death in the family.. My younger brother always appreciated good food and my hands full of henna. I would always talk to him about new clothes and going to Chaand Raat. I am missing him terribly. He was my guarding angel. Although I faced the death of my parents very bravely but to cope up with the death of my younger brother is very hard.My younger brother and myself are two bodies but one soul.My younger brother loved music and Chaand Raat and good food and clothes.

I attended the Chaand Raat hosted by F & A Entertainment at Dulles Expo center in Chantilly Virginia.

 Chaand Raat was well organized and loved Amir paying tribute to Amjad Sabri one of my most favorite Sufi Singer who was recently killed in Pakistan. Since childhood I have grown up listening to him his father and uncle. His father and uncle even performed at my parents place in India. One of my favorite Amjad Sabri’s Sufi song and his father’s and uncle songs we all enjoyed are:

Amjad Sabri’s Sufi song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IWucCwsU_tw

Amjad Sabri’s father and uncleSufi song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCsnGPV-RKc

Also I loved this Sufi Song in Bollywood movie Bajrangi Bhaijaan: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7N5UW9u1uhE

Creativity and Innovation and everything glam has always fascinated me. In Chaad Raat the fashion show was good. Just loved the singer Jaggy and Tammna  Miss South Asia USA 2015 (https://twitter.com/Tamz_1231 Www.southasiainc.com  ) was gorgeous. All the other singers and artists were also very good. Especially loved the children who performed. There were stalls of beautiful clothes and sumptuous cuisine from India and Pakistan. I enjoyed a lot and chilled out in the company of very good friends Rashid, Ariena, and Ariena’s wonderful nephew whom I adore; Arshad  and his relatives from Texas. Rashid, Ariena, and Arshad and his wife Mona are those friends who are always there for me in the good and bad times. Also was invited at many places on Eid and thank all the friends who opened their hearts and home for my husband and myself on Eid day especially Shaista and Uzair, Dr.Ishrat Husain, and Anjum and Iklaq. You all rock friends and thank you for always there for me in good and bad times! Enjoyed a lot at all these places. Once again Happy and Blessed Eid to everyone!

Here are some memories captured:

Videos: 

Dr Afshan Hashmi speaking at Chaand Raat (Eid Eve celebrations) from Afshan Hashmi on Vimeo.

Photographs:

https://plus.google.com/photos/106103940674813964651/albums/6290998589778952209

To know more about their Chaand Raat celebrations please go to the following website http://www.faentertainments.com/index.html

To know more about Dulles Expo Center please go to the following website:

https://www.dullesexpo.com/v/index.html

*********************************

 

 

 

No Responses to “Eid celebrations from the eyes of docAfshan”

Leave a Reply

