India Business Innovations
Entrepreneurial India

I love doing Philanthropy: an Innovative way to do Philanthropy in India: by Dr. Afshan Hashmi

I love doing philanthropy. Philanthropy is the hallmark of my legendary family in India. In keeping with the traditions,DNA and traits ,of my family I decided to donate an antique and rare Gold jewelery set to my AlmaMater in India the famous Aligarh Muslim University ( AMU) from my personal collection. I have expressed my wish that it be used in any way for the benefit of my AlmaMater.I admire Lt. Gen.(Retd.) Zameeruddin Shah the present Vice-Chancellor a lot. I salute him for all the good work he and his team is doing at my AlmaMater.The set is of a design present during the Mughal Dynasty of India.I believe in the mantra that “the more you give the more God the Almighty gives you.”
I was inspired by Saba Naqvi another alumna of AMU who donated her bangles at a fundraiser function organized at UAE for our AlmaMater AMU where Lt.Gen. Shah was Chief Guest. I came to know about this when I was watching live on You Tube the Homecoming Week second day. I am so thankful to Lt. Gen. Shah for reading my email in presence of thousands of people in person and alumni around the globe watching live on You Tube. Here is the link and the announcement of my donation at the very end of the speech of the AMU Vice-Chancellor Lt. Gen. Shah in the valedictory function: This You Tube link will be available for only six months from the date of Homecoming week 2014 a decision announced by the University:

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=oLU9ZC_hjjs

Please see a news article link about this news in India:

http://myamu.in/news/amu-alumni-meet-concludes-hopes-commitments

To read more press clips please visit  Dr. Afshan Hashmi’s website.

To know more about AMU please visit the following website:
http://www.amu.ac.in/
To know more about me please visit the following website:
http://www.drafshanhashmi.com/

No Responses to “I love doing Philanthropy: an Innovative way to do Philanthropy in India: by Dr. Afshan Hashmi”

Leave a Reply

